FRENCH ARCTIC INITIATIVE

A scientific monitoring network (overseer, ombudsman) for the Arctic whose mandate to reflect on working methods and to find answers to the critical issues facing the Arctic at the global scale.

CONTEXT

The Arctic is highly sensitive to climate change. According to climate change models, the gradual receding of the summer sea ice will lead to its seasonal disappearance within the next several decades (AR5 report IPCC, 2007). Even if there are inherent errors in these models, the sudden opening of the Arctic Ocean seems inevitable.
Beyond the cryosphere, major environmental disturbances affecting of all aspects of the climate system have become evident over the past several decades. There is already evidence of current and impeding impacts on marine and terrestrial ecosystems, biodiversity, greenhouse gas cycle and the physcio-chemical equilibrium of the continents, oceans and atmosphere (ACIA report, 2005).

concept

Following the recommendations of a report of the Parlimentary Office for the Evaluation of Scientific and Technological Choices (OPECST), the Ministre de l'Enseignement supérieur et la Recherche, announced, on November 20, 2008, the establishment of a « scientific monitor for the Arctic» with the mandate to "reflect on the working methods and to find answers to the critical global issues facing the Arctic".
The fulfillment of this announcement was entrusted to CNRS-INSU who, with other French organizations (CNRS-INEE, CNRS-INSHS, MAEE, IPEV, Météo France, IFREMER, CNES, CEA, BRGM, MESR), decided to create a « French Arctic Initiative ».

Mission and Issues

An inaugural symposium, held in Paris July 6-7, 2010, to launch the French Arctic Initiative revealed both the abundance and diversity of French Arctic research. It became evident that there was a lack of organization and structure within and between the different communities, partly due to a lack of clarity of the national landscape. Faced with this situation, the implementation of a interdisciplinary type of project was discussed, oriented towards the common concerns of the Ocean-Atmosphere, Continental, Earth Science, Life Science and Social Science research communities.

In the context of this approach, the scientific issues are numerous:

  • Environmental: adaptation of polar ecosystems to changes in the cryosphere, protection of natural environments with regard to the pollution caused by anthropogenic activities
  • Societal: adaptability of local communities to climate change and globalization
  • Economical and political: strategic control of new shipping routes, exploitation of natural resources, evolution of fishing zones, sovereignty over maritime zones of influence and riparian states

The mission of the French Arctic Initiative will be to mobilize the scientific community around these disciplines and to accentuate forward thinking, emphasizing fundamental scientific approaches for use in the Arctic. This type of thinking will permit us to:

  • Understand the causes of climate change and its impact on the environment and human health,
  • Cope with climate change through concrete lines of action for the benefit of the environment, the economy and the population.
Chantier arctique

Installation of an anemometer on the Loven East glacier

Photo Crédit: © AC Marlin / IPEV

ChanTier ARCTIQUE

Un observatoire scientifique de l'Arctique dont les objectifs sont de réfléchir à des méthodes de travail et trouver des moyens pour répondre aux enjeux cruciaux de l'Arctique au niveau mondial.

CONTEXTE

L’Arctique est une cible privilégiée du changement climatique qui s’y manifeste de façon particulièrement aiguë. Selon les prévisions des modèles de climat, la diminution progressive de la banquise estivale devrait conduire à sa disparition saisonnière quasi totale à une échéance de quelques décennies (Rapport AR5 du GIEC, 2007). Même si l’on anticipe des erreurs de prévision inhérente à ces modèles, l’ouverture soudaine de ce milieu jusque-là préservé aux activités humaines semble inéluctable.        
Au-delà de la cryosphère, des perturbations environnementales importantes de tous les compartiments du système climatique sont clairement mises en évidence depuis quelques décennies, avec un impact déjà visible ou attendu sur les écosystèmes marins et continentaux, la biodiversité, le cycle des gaz à effets de serre et l’ensemble des équilibres physico-chimiques continentaux, atmosphériques et océaniques (ACIA report, 2005).

Principe

Suivant les recommandations d’un rapport de l’Office parlementaire d'évaluation des choix scientifiques et technologiques (OPECST), le  Ministre de l’Enseignement supérieur et la Recherche, annonçait, le 20 novembre 2008, la mise en place d'un « observatoire scientifique de l'Arctique » dont les objectifs seraient de « réfléchir à des méthodes de travail et trouver des moyens pour répondre aux enjeux cruciaux de l'Arctique au niveau mondial ». 
La mise en œuvre d'un "chantier Arctique" a été confiée au CNRS, dont le bras armé sur ce sujet est l'Institut national des sciences de l'univers, avec le concours de l'Institut de l'écologie et de l'environnement ainsi que celui des sciences humaines.

Enjeux et mission

Un premier colloque de lancement du Chantier Arctique a eu lieu les 6 et 7 juillet 2010 à Paris et a montré à la fois la richesse des activités de recherche française en Arctique et leur diversité. Il est apparu que le manque de structuration au sein ou entre les différentes communautés provenait en partie d’un manque de lisibilité du paysage national. Face à ce constat, la mise en œuvre d’un chantier de type interdisciplinaire a été abordée, s’orientant vers des questionnements aux interfaces des communautés Océan-Atmosphère, Surfaces et Interfaces Continentales, Sciences de la Terre, Sciences du Vivant et des enjeux humains et sociétaux.
Dans le cadre de cette approche, les enjeux scientifiques sont multiples :

  • environnementaux : adaptation des écosystèmes polaires aux changements de la cryosphère, protection du milieu naturel vis-à-vis de la pollution induite par les activités humaines
  • sociétaux : adaptabilité des communautés locales au changement climatique et à la globalisation
  • économiques et politiques : contrôle stratégique des nouvelles routes maritimes, exploitation des ressources minières, évolution des zones de pêches, souveraineté sur les zones d’influence maritimes des états riverains

La mission du Chantier Arctique sera de mobiliser la communauté scientifique autour de ces disciplines et mettre en évidence une réflexion prospective faisant émerger les approches scientifiques fondamentales à considérer en Arctique. Cette réflexion devra permettre de :

  • comprendre les causes des changements climatiques et leurs répercussions sur l'environnement et la santé humaine,
  • faire face au changement climatique, en obtenant des pistes d’actions concrètes sur le plan environnemental et économique et d'en faire bénéficier la population.
Chantier arctique

Installation d'un anémomètre sur le glacier Loven Est

Crédit Photo : © AC Marlin / IPEV